clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Xbox Game Pass adds 3 Quake games, including the new remaster

Plus a new Quake expansion pack

A shot of Quake 2’s RTX version
Quake 2 RTX
Image: id Software/Bethesda Softworks

Three Quake games — Quake, Quake 2, and Quake 3 Arena — are now available through Xbox Game Pass. Microsoft announced the additions on Thursday alongside the start of QuakeCon 2021, shortly after id Software revealed and released a remastered version of the original Quake.

Quake’s enhanced version is available on Xbox consoles and Windows PC via Xbox Game Pass, while Quake 2 and Quake 3: Arena can be played on Windows PC through the subscription service “in their original form.” In other words, Quake 2 and Quake 3 haven’t been remastered. Players looking to enjoy Quake 2 in prettier form should check out the free Quake 2 RTX release, pictured above.

Bethesda Software’s remastered Quake, a new version of the 25-year-old game, has 4K resolution support, cross-platform play, enhanced visuals, and a new expansion pack from Wolfenstein developer MachineGames. It’s also available on its own on Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4 (and PlayStation 5 via backward compatibility), and Windows PC.

The three Quake games join a lineup that includes more than 30 Bethesda Softworks-published titles, many of which were added to Xbox Game Pass following Microsoft’s acquisition of Bethesda.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon