clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The best last-minute gaming gifts

Our collection of the best gaming gifts you can get post-haste

If you buy something from a Polygon link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

A composite image of products featured in our collection of last-minute gaming gifts Graphic: Alice Newcome-Beill/Polygon | Source images: Microsoft, Nintendo, PlayStation, Steelseries, Anker, Epic, 8BitDo, Harry N. Abrams [a combination of original artwork with multiple third-party assets]
Alice Jovanée (she/her) is a commerce writer, and she has been writing about gaming and tech since 2005. Prior to Polygon, she worked at publications such as The Verge.

The holidays are right around the corner (or might already be here, depending on how you celebrate), which leaves you in a bit of a tight spot if you’ve still got some names to cross off your holiday shopping list. If you’re still struggling to find something special to gift to the gamer in your life, our collection of the best last-minute gaming gifts is here to help.

If you’re short on time and need something quick, it's tough to go wrong with digital gift cards to the online storefronts for various platforms like Nintendo, PlayStation, or Xbox. However, V-Bucks seem to have quickly jumped to the top of everyone’s wish list this year, especially with the recent launch of Lego Fortnite.

For physical gifts like Xbox controllers, gaming headsets, and other accessories, we’ve picked out a few suggestions that are easy to find, and will arrive quickly to help you tackle your holiday shopping post-haste. For even more suggestions, make sure to check out our roundups of the best gifts for fans of Mario, Zelda, Fortnite, and more.


Digital gift cards and subscriptions

Gaming Controllers

Gaming Headsets

Gaming Accessories

Gaming Books

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.