Along with the cargo you’ll pick up Death Stranding, you’ll also find lost cargo from other players. This guide will talk about what that lost cargo is, where it comes from, and what you can do with it.
When does cargo get lost?
Maybe you lost a fistfight with a MULE, maybe you were kidnapped by a BT, or maybe you just wandered off because you saw something shiny. Your cargo — specifically things that you were carrying as part of a standard order — will become lost if it falls off of your back, and you get too far away from it. (The distance seems to be about a half of a kilometer or so.)
Lost cargo will disappear from your world and appear in someone else’s. The same will happen with other players’ cargo in your world. (Lost materials like metals or weapons disappear and reappear elsewhere the same way, but this won’t be tagged as lost cargo.)
What to do with lost cargo
Lost cargo appears where someone dropped it, or it will show up in a nearby share locker. Anyone can grab it out of the share locker. At that point, you can either deliver it to its intended recipient (and get Likes), or drop it into a different share locker by entrusting it.
The intended recipient appears in the (tiny) white text on the right side of the screen. You’ll also be able to see a predicted number of likes that you’ll get for delivering it.
Deliver lost cargo
You have the option to deliver lost cargo to any location, not just it’s original destination. When you arrive at a delivery terminal with lost cargo in your possession, you’ll get a Deliver Lost Cargo option in the menu. Any cargo that is supposed to end up there will get delivered. Next, you’ll get a screen about entrusting any other lost cargo you have.
Entrust lost cargo
Entrusting cargo means that you pass it into the share locker of this location, and let someone else worry about delivering it the rest of the way. The default of the menu is to entrust all lost cargo you have on you.
To not entrust cargo, you’ll have to select each piece (highlight it, and press the Square button), and confirm that you want to keep it on you. If you hold down the X button on the first menu, you’ll deliver all of the lost cargo (and curse the game). You have to highlight the the bottom of the menu (called Return) to get a second menu, where you have to individually exclude lost cargo.
It’s so confusing that we made that whole paragraph bold and created a video for you (and us, honestly).