clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Destiny 2: Season of the Hunt guide - Cryptolith Lure and Wrathborn Hunts explained

The Crow’s latest activity is a little hard to wrap your brain around, here’s how it works

Image: Bungie via Polygon

Destiny 2: Beyond Light is here, and players are exploring Europa and collecting cool new ice powers. But the Fall season, Season of the Hunt, has also arrived in Destiny 2. Season of the Hunt reintroduces us to Uldren Sov, the man who killed Cayde-6, resurrected as a Guardian named Crow.

During a brief mission where you rescue a Ghost-less Osiris from some Hive, you’ll meet the Crow and his Ghost, Glint. Afterward, you’ll meet with the Spider in his lair on the Tangled Shore. He and the Crow will explain that they need your help clearing out some Hive and Fallen in a new activity: Wrathborn Hunts.

Visit the Crow in his lair — just to the left of Spider — and he’ll hand over the Lure. You’ll need to charge and mod this Lure before you go on your Wrathborn Hunts, so that’s where we’ll begin.

Charging the Lure

Complete activities to charge the Lure
Image: Bungie via Polygon

The Lure is a special item in your inventory, similar to the Chalice from Season of Opulence. If you hover over it in your Quest menu you’ll see two bars. One indicates how close you are to getting a new charge while the other indicates how many charges you have. The Lure can hold three total charges before it’s full, and you’ll need to use to start gaining more charges.

To charge the Lure, you need to complete Gambit, Crucible, or Strikes. Each match or Strike offers 33% completion, but each day there’s a bonus objective that lets you get more percent for one of the given activities — like bonus percent in Strikes for precision kills.

You need at least one full charge in your Lure before engaging in a Wrathborn Hunt.

Setting the Cryptolith Lure

Use the Cryptolith Lure to customize your rewards
Image: Bungie via Polygon

Once you have a charge, you can enter the Lure’s menu to customize it.

In the first slot, you can pick your Hunt. Each Hunt displays a potential reward under its name. Select the Hunt you want and then you can select the Hunt mods.

Depending on the reward of your selected Hunt, you’ll be able to apply different mutations to your Lure. For armor, you can use mods to dictate what kind of stats you’ll get. For weapons, you can use your mods to exclude certain perks from the perk pool or dictate the Masterwork stat.

Some mods, like armor stats, only let you do one at a time. If the game won’t let you select a second mod in your Tier 2 slot, you must select an empty mod instead.

Mods come from all kinds of activities, but you can buy extra ones from Crow for Glimmer.

You need to either select a mod or the empty, “dormant” mod in the two mod slots to fully prepare your Lure.

Going on the Wrathborn Hunt

The Cryptolith is hard to miss
Image: Bungie via Polygon

This is the most straightforward part of the Lure and Hunt system.

Depending on the Wrathborn Hunt you’ve selected, you’ll need to go to the Tangled Shore (for Fallen bosses) or the Dreaming City (for Hive bosses). If you have a prepared Lure, you’ll get a mission icon. Follow it to the Cryptolith sticking out of the ground. Walk up to it and plant your Lure.

A Hive or Fallen boss will pop out of the Cryptolith, along with some bonus enemies. Kill them all and damage the boss until it runs away. The boss will leave behind a scent. Interact with it and follow the trail of glowing green goop on the ground. When you reach the end of the path, you’ll see a small node sticking out of the ground. Interact with it to start the mission.

When you spawn into the new area, follow the path until you find another Cryptolith. Plant your Lure one more time to spawn the wounded enemy you chased here. Kill it and it will summon your real target.

Regardless of which boss you’re hunting, you’ll need to take its shield down first. Look around the arena for an enemy that’s glowing green. This is holding the Wrathful buff you need to take the boss’ shield down. Kill the enemy and stand in the pool to gain the buff. Now kill the boss however you see fit.

The bosses have very little health once you get their shield down, just use your Power weapon or Super to get the job done. Once they’re dead, collect your rewards and head back to Crow.

Recon and Crow’s Reputation

Use Recon Data to level up Crow and get more perks
Image: Bungie via Polygon

The last part of this system is Crow’s reputation level. As you beat Wrathborn Hunts, you’ll earn Recon Data. For every 20 Recon Data you turn into Crow, you’ll level him up.

When Crow levels up, he’ll give you an engram containing a piece of Season of the Hunt gear. Every few Reputation levels, you can also improve your Lure with more powerful rewards, increased Recon, and more.

Unlike seasonal activities in Destiny 2: Year 3, Wrathborn Hunts should stick around until Destiny 2: The Witch Queen in late 2021.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon