clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

When does Destiny 2: Season of the Wish release?

See when Destiny 2: Season of the Wish starts in your time zone

An Ahamkara wish dragon peers through the portal at a group of Guardians in Destiny 2 Image: Bungie
Ryan Gilliam (he/him) has worked at Polygon for nearly seven years. He primarily spends his time writing guides for massively popular games like Diablo 4 & Destiny 2.

Season of the Wish is the final season in Destiny 2 before Bungie pivots its popular loot-shooter to an episodic model following the upcoming Final Shape expansion. It may be the end of an era for Destiny 2, but at least the era is going out with a bang.

Season of the Wish will take back to The Dreaming City to finally deal with the 15th Wish — a seed that was planted in the game over five years ago in 2018’s Forsaken expansion — among other exciting additions, which we’ve detailed below (to the extent we can). Here’s when Destiny 2: Season of the Wish starts in your time zone and what’s coming in Season of the Wish.


What time does Destiny 2: Season of the Wish start?

According to Bungie, Destiny 2: Season of the Wish starts at 9 a.m. PST on Tuesday, Nov. 28. Here’s when that is in your time zone:

  • 9 a.m. PST for the West Coast of North America
  • 12 p.m. EST for the East Coast of North America
  • 6 p.m. CET for Western Europe/Paris
  • 5 p.m. GMT for the U.K.
  • 2 a.m. JST on Nov. 29 for Tokyo

What’s new in Destiny 2: Season of the Wish?

As usual, Bungie is staying pretty tight-lipped about Destiny 2’s upcoming season.

Still, there are a few things that the studio has promised over the past few months, as well as things we can infer from the teaser trailer and the Season of the Wish press release.

  • Season of the Wish is titled after the 15th Wish, a joke and rumor in the community that started in the Forsaken era. In The Last Wish raid, you could input symbols to create “wishes” that can teleport you to certain encounters in the raid, give bonus loot, or even give enemies the old Grunt Birthday Party effect from Halo. There are 14 of these other wishes in Last Wish, but dataminers discovered a hidden “15th Wish” that never made it into the game. It became a bit of a legend in the Destiny community, and has remained so for over five years.
  • Season of the Wish will finally see the addition of an in-game group finder for Destiny 2 — one of the game’s most requested features. You’ll be able to jump into the menu and join groups looking for more players, or create your own group, complete with tags meant to attract like-minded Guardians.
  • While not technically part of the Season of the Wish offering — as it comes as part of a separate purchase, the Lightfall Dungeon Key — we’ll be getting a new Destiny 2 dungeon on Friday, Dec. 1. We know even less about this dungeon than we do the season. But Bungie’s recent dungeons have aligned with the seasonal theme of the season they launched alongside, so it’s reasonable to expect something similar here. It seems very likely that we’ll end up with yet another Dreaming City-themed dungeon, similar to the Shattered Throne — the first ever Destiny dungeon.

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.