clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

When does Destiny 2’s Warlord’s Ruin dungeon release?

The final dungeon of 2023 sends you to a ruined Dark Age castle

Destiny 2’s Warlord’s Ruin dungeon Image: Bungie
Ryan Gilliam (he/him) has worked at Polygon for nearly seven years. He primarily spends his time writing guides for massively popular games like Diablo 4 & Destiny 2.

Warlord’s Ruin is the final Year 6 dungeon coming to Destiny 2, following the stellar Ghosts of the Deep dungeon from earlier this year.

As for the dungeon’s theme, we don’t know much outside of the in-game badge for Warlord’s Ruin, which suggests we’ll be fighting Scorn enemies in a Dark Age castle.

In this Destiny 2: Season of the Wish guide, we’ll tell you everything we know about Warlord’s Ruin, including when the dungeon launches in your time zone.


What time does the Destiny 2 Warlord’s Ruin dungeon release?

Destiny 2: Season of the Wish’s dungeon launches at 9 a.m. PST on Friday, Dec. 1. Here’s when that is in your time zone:

  • 9 a.m. PST for the West Coast of North America
  • 12 p.m. EST for the East Coast of North America
  • 6 p.m. CET for Western Europe/Paris
  • 5 p.m. GMT for the U.K.
  • 2 a.m. JST on Nov. 29 for Tokyo

To start the dungeon, you must visit Ikora in the Tower and get the “In the Shadow of the Mountain” quest, then visit the EDZ in the Director. The level requirement is 1810.


How do you gain access to Warlord’s Ruin in Destiny 2?

Three Guardians stand before Lightfall adversaries The Witness and Calus in Destiny 2 Image: Bungie

While Warlord’s Ruin launches alongside Destiny 2: Season of the Wish, it doesn’t come bundled as part of the cost of the season. Instead, you’ll need to purchase Warlord’s Ruin one of two ways: The Lightfall + Annual Pass or the Lightfall Dungeon Key.

  • The Lightfall + Annual Pass bundle costs $99.99 and includes all the seasons for the year and the Dungeon Key, which gives you access to the already released Ghosts of the Deep dungeon and the Warlord’s Ruin dungeon.
  • If you just care about the dungeon, you can buy the Lightfall Dungeon Key to get access to Warlord’s Ruin and Ghosts.

The Lightfall Dungeon Key isn’t individually listed on any of the marketplaces, but you can buy it from the Expansion section of the in-game Destiny 2 store for 2,000 Silver, which will cost you $19.99.


What can we expect from the Warlord’s Ruin dungeon in Destiny 2?

A Guardian wearing Witcher armor kills a Scorn Abomination in Destiny 2: Season of the Wish Image: Bungie

Bungie is typically very quiet about the loot and subject matter of its endgame activities, and that’s certainly the case with Warlord’s Ruin. We know that it’s set in a Dark Age castle and that Scorn are the enemies we’ll be taking on.

The name Warlord’s Ruin could refer to a few different things. It probably refers to the warlord Guardians that existed after The Collapse, before the Iron Lords rose up to protect people against the early Lightbearers. That would suggest a dungeon set either in the EDZ or the Cosmodrome. It’s also possible that it could refer to Rasputin, the Warmind, although his story seemingly ended in Season of the Seraph.

As far as rewards go, the only thing we know for sure is that Guardians will be able to get a rocket pistol — which will presumably be the dungeon’s Exotic weapon. Otherwise, we can assume there will be four Legendary weapons and a set of lavish armor, based on previous Destiny 2 dungeon offerings.

Of course there will also be a new dungeon title and a solo-flawless emblem to keep you busy for weeks to come.

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.