clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Free 4K game updates are coming to Xbox One X

More than 30 third-party titles already announced

Image of Xbox One X console and controller Microsoft

Several games will receive free updates for 4K compatibility when Xbox One X launches this November, Microsoft announced during its E3 2017 press conference.

Among these are Gears of War 4, Killer Instinct, Minecraft, Forza Horizon 3 and Halo Wars 2. But the upgrades will also come to more than 30 third-party titles, running the gamut from Final Fantasy 15 to Resident Evil 7. Microsoft hinted at a handful of other games that will be enhanced for Xbox One X at no cost during the conference, with many more expected.

Xbox One X will launch on Nov. 7 and cost $499. The upgraded console boasts a more than four-fold increase over the Xbox One’s graphics capability, a 31 percent increase in CPU speed, and a 50 percent increase in onboard RAM. It’s also the smallest Xbox ever, a point that Microsoft made early on during its briefing today.

E3 2017 begins on June 13, with press conferences starting June 10. For the big announcements, make sure to check out our one-stop shop for the show's streams.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon