clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sony’s E3 2017 PlayStation press conference: time and live stream

New, 9 comments

When #1 has to work harder

Sony’s 2017 E3 press conference will take place on Monday, June 12 at 6 p.m. PDT / 9 p.m. EDT / 2 a.m. BST, June 13 (When is that?). You can watch it live with us right at the top of this post.

And what do we expect? It’s a good question. The demand for the Nintendo Switch continues to outpace supply, and it’s not like Sony is going to be able to compete with the portable nature of that system with, y’know, Vita news or anything. Microsoft has announced the Xbox One X and priced it at $499.99, which gives Sony a lot of room to press its advantage on price.

Sony is the company with the biggest challenge going into E3 2017, at least in terms of buzz and “easy” victories. So what do we expect? Games. And a lot of them.

Expect new IP — Horizon Zero Dawn was a pretty big deal at the beginning of the year and it was first shown at 2015’s E3 — along with some pretty big sequel news.

It helps that Sony will also likely benefit from exclusive content from some of the biggest franchises of the year. The PlayStation 4 was often seen as the Destiny machine when the first game was released, and we wouldn’t be shocked by more exclusive Destiny 2 content after the game is released. Expect a lot of news about timed content exclusives this year on the PlayStation 4 in general.

We may see the PlayStation 4 Pro get some new features or wow us with graphical upgrades for some of the bigger games coming to the end of 2017 or 2018 to drive excitement for that system, but overall? Expect a software-heavy show from Sony this year.

Catch up with the rest of our E3 coverage right here!