clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

E3 2017 predictions for Sony, Microsoft, Nintendo and more

New, 31 comments

E3 is almost here, so here’s what to expect

E3 2014 - PlayStation/Xbox hallway Samit Sarkar/Polygon

It’s that time of year where thousands of people descend upon Los Angeles to attend E3. With the event kicking off soon, we’re curious about what to expect.

We’ve already discussed what games we aren’t even sure we’re going to see, but what about your favorite companies? What will Sony, Microsoft, Nintendo and others share this year?

To help you keep your expectations in check, we’ve compiled a list of our predictions from a handful of major companies presenting at E3 this year.

SONY

Kojima game E3

We expect Sony to focus on their hardware and some of their exclusive titles.

They’ve already revealed their Gold PS4 and perhaps we’ll hear about price drops for the PS4 Pro. With the PlayStation VR doing well, Sony might announce a price drop, and if not a price drop, maybe a new bundle.

And while we hoped to hear more about Hideo Kojima’s enigmatic Death Stranding, it seems like we won’t hear much.

You can watch Sony’s E3 2017 press conference on Monday, June 12 at 6 p.m. PDT / 9 p.m. EDT / 2 a.m. BST, June 13.

MICROSOFT

xbox_press_event

We expect Microsoft to make a big splash with the Scorpio and their services.

There’s a good chance we’ll learn some of the basics about the Scorpio, like its price and release date. And while VR is a priority for Microsoft as a company, that focus belongs to their computers, not the Xbox.

Microsoft’s ID@Xbox initiative will be bringing a host of indie games to Xbox. Let’s cross our fingers that we’ll get more info about Cuphead, Tacoma and Below. There are also some bigger games we’d like to see more of, like State of Decay 2, Crackdown 3 and Sea of Thieves.

There are other interesting services worth mentioning, like Xbox’s Play Anywhere, which is launching on Sept. 13.

You can watch Microsoft’s E3 2017 press conference on Sunday, June 11 at 2 p.m. PDT / 5 p.m. EDT / 10 p.m. BST.

NINTENDO

Super Real Mario Odyssey trailer - Mario on motorcycle CrowbCat/YouTube

We expect Nintendo to focus on their Nintendo Switch titles primarily. Of course, you should also expect some news about the 3DS.

We’ll definitely hear about Super Mario Odyssey, Nintendo has confirmed as much. But with Splatoon 2 on the horizon and Arms launching at the tail end of E3, Nintendo should drop more details about both titles.

And as one of E3 2017’s worst kept secrets, we’ll likely get official word about Mario + Rabbids Kingdom Battle.

You can watch Nintendo’s E3 2017 press conference on Tuesday, June 13 at 9 a.m. PDT / 12 p.m. EDT / 5 p.m. BST .

EA, BETHESDA AND UBISOFT

FIFA 18 - Cristiano Ronaldo artwork Electronic Arts

Expect Electronic Arts to dig into their sports franchises like FIFA 18 and Madden NFL 18. Not only that, we should hear more news about Star Wars Battlefront 2, Need for Speed Payback and more. Here’s a full list of everything we expect EA to show off.

You can watch EA’s E3 2017 press conference on Saturday, June 10 at 12 p.m. PDT / 3 p.m. EDT / 8 p.m. BST.

Ubisoft new 2017 logo Ubisoft

Expect Ubisoft to discuss some of their biggest franchises like Assassin’s Creed and Far Cry. We’ll likely hear updates about South Park: The Fractured But Whole, which got delayed, as well as updates about other games like Just Dance. Here’s a full list of what else we expect from Ubisoft this year.

You can watch Ubisoft’s E3 2017 press conference on Monday, June 12 at 1 p.m. PDT / 4 p.m. EDT / 9 p.m. BST.

Fallout 4 art Bethesda Softworks

Bethesda will be a bit of a wild card this year. One of the biggest rumors floating around is that the company will announce an open-world science fiction title called Starfield, although the source is pretty thin.

The biggest question is whether we’ll hear about some more familiar titles like Elder Scrolls Online, Skyrim for the Switch and possibly more Wolfenstein. Here’s the full rundown of what we expect from Bethesda.

You can watch Bethesda’s E3 2017 press conference on Sunday, June 11 at 9 p.m. PDT / 12 a.m. EDT, June 12 / 5 a.m. BST, June 12.


You can find all the latest E3 2017 news on Polygon’s E3 hub.