clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Marvel’s Avengers’ Black Panther expansion launches Aug. 17

Check out War for Wakanda in action

Marvel’s Avengers: War for Wakanda is a new expansion coming later this year that will star Black Panther and add the Wakanda biome. Square Enix gave fans a fresh look at the expansion during its E3 2021 livestream on Sunday.

Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics first announced the War for Wakanda expansion in March of this year. The original trailer was a call to cation from Klaw, the infamous Vibranium thief played by Andy Serkis in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Klaw and his minions will invade Wakanda in the new expansion, and the Avengers will team up with the Black Panther to help him save his kingdom.

Black Panther marks the third new hero since Marvel’s Avengers launched last year. Both Kate Bishop and Clint Barton — two different versions of the same hero, Hawkeye — have already made their debut. Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics previously revealed that Spider-Man will come to Marvel’s Avengers as a PlayStation-exclusive hero.

Marvel’s Avengers: War for Wakanda will be free for all players who own Marvel’s Avengers, and it will come to Google Stadia, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Windows PC, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X.

Update (July 29): Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics revealed that Black Panther and Marvel’s Avengers War for Wakanda expansion will launch Aug. 17.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon