clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

When does Fortnite’s Rocket Racing go live?

Rocket Racing goes up on Dec. 8

A race track in Fortnite’s Rocket Racing. A road stretches through a tree-filled area with some ruins around it. Image: Epic Games
Julia Lee (she/her) is a guides producer, writing guides for games like The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom and Genshin Impact. She helped launch the Rift Herald in 2016.

Fortnite is getting its own built-in racing mode, referred to as Rocket Racing.

Psyonix, the team behind Rocket League, has developed a racing game mode for Fortnite. Using Rocket League mechanics (drifting, flying, boosting, etc.), you can race through maps alongside friends. It is free-to-play and it’s a different game from Fortnite, though it runs via Fortnite.

Rocket League players will also notice that their in-game inventories will be available in Rocket Racing, so you can port over your decked-out car to race with. Nice. Here’s when Fortnite Rocket Racing will release in your time zone.


What time does Rocket Racing launch?

Fortnite Rocket Racing goes live on Friday, Dec. 8, at 7 a.m. PST. Here’s when that is in your time zone:

  • 7 a.m. PST for the West Coast of North America
  • 10 a.m. EST for the East Coast of North America
  • 3 p.m. GMT for the U.K.
  • 4 p.m. CEST for west mainland Europe
  • 12 p.m. JST in Japan (Dec. 9)

Once Rocket Racing goes live, you should be able to access the game through Fortnite (as mentioned above), but we’re a bit muddy on the exact details of how it works.


Looking for more help during Fortnite Chapter 5 Season 1? We have guides on finding Weapon Cases and the Floating Island, plus explainers on the Train Heist, Society Medallions, the gold circle on the map, and linking your Fortnite and LEGO Insider accounts.

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.