clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How to win in Fortnite’s new Avengers: Endgame mode

Avengers, assemble!

Black Widow with Captain America’s shield in Fortnite
Black Widow with Captain America’s shield in Fortnite.
Epic Games via Polygon
Austen Goslin (he/him) is an entertainment editor. He writes about the latest TV shows and movies, and particularly loves all things horror.

Epic’s new Avengers: Endgame mode tries to imagine what it would be like to bring a massive superhero battle to Fortnite. While the Infinity War mode from last year was all about letting Fortnite characters take on Thanos, this one mixes up heroes and villains and gives everyone something new to do.

These new additions to the Fortnite formula can make it a little confusing to get started, so we’ll break down how it all works.

What are the goals of each side?

There are two sides in the Endgame mode, the heroes and the Chitauri (led by Thanos). The Chitauri’s goal is to capture all the Infinity Stones for Thanos, who gets more powerful with each stone. The heroes’ goal is to stop the Chitauri from getting the Stones. The Chitauri have 100 lives to collect the stones, once those lives are gone they won’t be able to respawn. If the heroes eliminate all the Chitauri, the heroes win.

Who gets to be Thanos?

The first player on the Chitauri side to pick up an Infinity Stone becomes Thanos. After that person dies, players from the Chitauri team are chosen at random to be the new Thanos.

What powers does Thanos gain with each stone?

  • Reality Stone (Red) = Heath & Shields doubled (1000->2000)
  • Soul Stone (Orange) = Siphon activated (grants Thanos shields only)
  • Mind Stone (Yellow) = Jump height doubled
  • Space Stone (Blue) = Ground Pound AOE size tripled, damage x6
  • Time Stone (Green) = Big knockback added to each hit, damage x3

Where can I find Avengers weapons?

At the beginning of each match as the heroes, you’ll start with a treasure map in your inventory that shows you where you can get a special Avengers weapon. There’s Hawkeye’s bow, Iron Man’s Repulsors, Thor’s Stormbreaker ax, and Captain America’s shield. If you get one you don’t like you can also wander the world looking for other treasure maps and chests, which can give you different weapons. Since the Infinity Stones don’t spawn until a couple minutes into the game, it’s usually a good idea to go weapon hunting early on.

How do I defend the Infinity Stones?

The shortest answer is that you can defend the stones by eliminating all the Chitauri that are trying to get them. The stones take a few seconds to collect, so as soon as a Chitauri reaches them, you’ll have plenty of time to stop them. Another useful tool can be building. If you have a few quiet seconds near the stone, try building a structure around it. the Chitauri might be able to break it pretty easily, but anything that can slow them down will make protecting the stones a little easier.

What am I supposed to be doing as the Chitauri?

Your goal is to get the Infinity Stones. But sometimes that isn’t easy. Most of the time, you’re throwing yourself at the enemy heroes in an attempt to overwhelm them. Trying to kill the heroes can be a useful way for you to buy time for your allies, but it isn’t the main goal. If you get to a stone, you can build around it. This can give you enough time to secure it for Thanos without fear of getting shot by heroes.

Fortnite’s Endgame mode is definitely still Fortnite, but it feels different from any mode the game has had before. It’s more about fighting in a massive battle and using amazing weapons than it is about building. But if you want to succeed in the mode, you’ll still have to mix in a few Fortnite tricks to either collect all the stones, or keep them out of Thanos’s gauntlet.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon