PlayStation 4: A Speculative Wishlist

On February 20th, Sony may be announcing it's plan to move into the 8th Generation of Videogame Consoles with the highly highly anticipated PlayStation 4. Keep in mind, that although nothing has been confirmed, the rumor-mill has been churning at high speed in the last couple of weeks, with more information being leaked about the developmental prototype Orbis than at any other time in the last 12 months.

Whilst no one can doubt that the PlayStation 3 was a massive success, every generation of consoles leaves room for improvement. In this Wishlist, I'll list some things I would want from a PS4 and I'll also ask you what innovations and indiscretions you would like to see in a new PlayStation console and why!

Disclaimer: If you're looking for a console war, please go away. Positive thoughts and ideas welcome!

Ease of Access for Developers

I'm no developer myself, so I cant comment with firsthand experience, but major studios such as Bethesda, Valve, and Activision Blizzard have all voiced criticism of the PS3 with regards to the difficulty of developing content for the machine. I hope that the PS4 is constructed in a fashion that encourages developers to build games for it, by making development as easy as possible. Sony, you're the hardware experts, make sure you build a console that lets the software experts produce amazing games too okay?!

More PS Home