clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

EA Labels president Frank Gibeau giving Gamescom 2012 opening keynote

Gibeau and EA look forward

Gamescom 2011 outdoors
Gamescom 2011 outdoors
Samit Sarkar (he/him) is Polygon’s deputy managing editor. He has more than 15 years of experience covering video games, movies, television, and technology.

Frank Gibeau, president of EA Labels, will deliver the opening keynote at Gamescom 2012 in Cologne, Germany, Electronic Arts announced in a press release.

Frank Gibeau, president of EA Labels, will deliver the opening keynote at Gamescom 2012 in Cologne, Germany, Electronic Arts announced in a press release.

The address is set to begin at 7 p.m CET (1 p.m. EDT) on Wednesday, August 15th.

According to EA, Gibeau will speak about the "changing landscape of the gaming industry," explaining why "the games we will play four years from now would be unrecognizable to us today." Other topics include the industry's ongoing shift from physical to digital distribution, innovative online offerings, and direct-to-consumer marketing. EA has invested heavily in all of these areas, developing experiences such as Madden NFL 13's Connected Careers mode and Battlefield Premium.

EA is set to reveal "new content and services" for games including SimCity, FIFA 13, Medal of Honor Warfighter, Need for Speed Most Wanted, and Crysis 3. Gamescom runs from August 15th through 19th, and EA will hold its press briefing at 4 p.m. CET (10 a.m. EDT) on Tuesday, August 14th. The event will be streamed live on the company's website.

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.