clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ghost of Tsushima guide: Izuhara prefectures maps and collectible locations

Find every exploration location and collectible in Izuhara

Image: Sucker Punch Productions/Sony Interactive Entertainment via Polygon
Jeffrey Parkin (he/him) has been writing video game guides for Polygon for almost seven years. He has learned to love just about every genre of game that exists.

The titular island of Ghost of Tsushima is full of places to visit, and upgrades, cosmetic items, and artifacts to collect.

In this guide, we’ll give you maps for the every exploration location and collectible in Ghost of Tsushima’s southernmost region, Izuhara.

Izuhara region maps

There are seven prefectures in Izuhara.

Ghost of Tsushima Izuhara prefectures map
Izuhara’s seven prefectures.
Image: Sucker Punch Productions/Sony Interactive Entertainment via Polygon

We’ve broken each prefecture out into its own map in the gallery below. On each of the maps, you’ll see the geographic landmarks labeled to match your map. We’ve also added icons for every exploration location and collectible type: Pillars of Honor, Hot Springs, Inari Shrines (Fox Dens), Bamboo Strikes, Haikus, Shinto Shrines, Lighthouses, Sashimono Banners, Mongol Artifacts, Records, and Singing Crickets. In the section below, we’ll explain what each of those are.

Types of exploration locations and collectibles

There are a lot of places to visit and things to collect in Ghost of Tsushima. Most of them will earn you an improvement to Jin’s stats or a cosmetic (Vanity) item.

The exploration locations we’ve marked on the maps above are:

  • Pillars of Honor. Collect Sword Kits from these pillars to customize the appearance of your blades. (Technically, these change the appearance of your blades’ sheaths.)
  • Hot Springs. Every Hot Spring increases your maximum health.
  • Inari Shrines (Fox Dens). Find and honor the island’s shrines to Inari. These earn additional minor charm slots or charms — items that buff your abilities.
  • Bamboo Strikes. Hone your sword technique by slicing through bamboo in a single strike. These locations increase your resolve.
  • Haikus. Seek out tranquil places to focus your mind. Each haiku rewards a new headband.
  • Shinto Shrines. Shrines contain Charms and wax wood.
  • Lighthouses. Reignite lighthouses to give hope to the people and grow your Legend.

There are also four types of collectibles:

  • Sashimono Banners. Small flags worn by common soldiers and samurai alike. Collecting them earns you new saddles.
  • Mongol Artifacts. You can find a variety of Mongol Artifacts in their forts, encampments, and dwellings across the island.
  • Records. Personal accounts, poems, and messages written by the people of Tsushima, documenting life during the Mongol invasion.
  • Singing Crickets. Prized for their singing, they are often caught and kept in small cages — and those cages are in cemeteries. Collecting them allows you to learn new flute melodies.

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.