clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3 guide: Hero unlock list and order

Here’s who you get when you get them

Team Ninja/Nintendo via Polygon
Ryan Gilliam (he/him) has worked at Polygon for nearly seven years. He primarily spends his time writing guides for massively popular games like Diablo 4 & Destiny 2.

Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3: The Black Order has a sizable roster to choose from. There are heroes, anti-heroes, and straight up villains for you to assemble. You’ll earn most of the 36 characters through the campaign, with a few others unlocked through difficult Infinity challenge rooms.

You can’t book it straight to your favorite hero, but we can show you when and where you’ll find them in the campaign. Here is a complete list of heroes in Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3, and when you’ll pick them up.

The campaign

Your party after the first chapter
Team Ninja/Nintendo via Polygon

The first eight chapters offer heroes for completing objectives and defeating bosses.

Chapter 1: Kree Ship

You’ll start the chapter with the Guardians of the Galaxy:

  • Drax
  • Gamora
  • Star-Lord
  • Rocket and Groot

Chapter 2: The Raft

After your fight with the Sand Man, you’ll unlock your next group of characters:

  • Black Widow
  • Falcon
  • Captain America
  • Iron Man
  • Thor
  • Hulk
  • Wolverine
  • Scarlet Witch
  • Crystal
  • Captain Marvel
  • Spider-Man

After your battle with Electro and Venom, you’ll earn your next hero:

  • Venom

After you run into Luke Cage in the detention cells, you’ll earn your next hero:

  • Luke Cage

After you battle Mysterio and the Spider-teens, you’ll earn your next group of heroes:

  • Miles Morales
  • Ms. Marvel
  • Spider-Gwen

Chapter 3: Shadowland

After Chapter 3 starts, you’ll earn your next hero after your first battle with the Hand:

  • Iron Fist

After your second wave of Hand ninjas, you’ll earn your next hero:

  • Daredevil

Chapter 4: Avengers Tower

After you battle a wave of Ultron bots, you’ll earn your next hero:

  • Wasp

After you defeat Ultron, you’ll earn your next hero:

  • Hawkeye

Chapter 5: Xavier Institute

After your first battle with the Sentinels, you’ll earn your next heroes:

  • Psylocke
  • Nightcrawler

After you defeat Juggernaut, you’ll earn your next hero:

  • Deadpool

Chapter 6: Dark Dimension

After your first battle against the Mindless Ones, you’ll earn your next hero:

  • Elsa Bloodstone

After your first Rift puzzle, you’ll earn your next hero:

  • Ghost Rider

After you defeat the possessed Doctor Strange, you’ll earn your next hero:

  • Doctor Strange

Chapter 8: Wakanda

In the first area of Wakanda, you’ll earn your next hero:

  • Storm

In the final area of Wakanda, you’ll earn your final campaign hero:

  • Black Panther

Infinity challenges

Unlock Elektra by taking down Infinity Kingpin
Team Ninja/Nintendo via Polygon

There are four tiers of Infinity challenges, which you’ll unlock as you complete the main story. Each Infinity tier’s final challenge unlocks a new character.

Gamma (recommended level 30)

  • Electra

PSI (recommended level 38)

  • Magneto

Sigma (recommended level 45)

  • Loki

Lambda (recommended level 65)

  • Thanos

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.