clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

How to evolve Girafarig into Farigiraf

It requires your Pokémon to evolve and learn a new move

Farigiraf, a giraffe-like Pokémon, with a glowing purple orb. Image: Game Freak/The Pokémon Company, Nintendo
Nicole Carpenter is a senior reporter specializing in investigative features about labor issues in the game industry, as well as the business and culture of games.

Pokémon Scarlet and Pokémon Violet’s new Girafarig evolution, Farigiraf, is new to the Paldea region. It changes the giraffe-esque Pokémon upside down, moving its tail — which is also a head with its own brain — onto its head like a little helmet. As Farigiraf, the Pokémon wears its regular head inside its helmet head. Two brains in one!

With the new Pokémon, it’s got two new abilities, too: Cud Chew, which allows a Pokémon to eat a berry twice, and Armor Tail, which “makes opposing Pokémon unable to use priority moves.” Both abilities are new to Scarlet and Violet.

Looking to add this strange, strange Pokémon to your team? Here’s how.

A screenshot of Pokémon Scarlet and Violet’s map. Girafarig’s habitat is highlighted on the map. Image: Game Freak/The Pokémon Company, Nintendo

Where to find Girafarig

Girafarig is available in a few different spots in Paldea — we’ve spotted it just outside the Porto Marinada Pokémon Center and in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet’s Area Zero. The Porto Marinada location is your best bet when you’re earlier on in the game. You’ll find it in grassy areas over there.

How to evolve Girafarig into Farigiraf

Girafarig evolves into Farigiraf at level 32, which is when you’ll get the option to teach it Twin Beam. After it learns the move, Girafarig will evolve. If you have a Girafarig above level 32, your Pokémon won’t evolve until you have it remember Twin Beam, then level it up again. Once it gets to its next level, Girafarig will evolve into Farigiraf.

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.