clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Pokémon

Shiny Spinda, Speed Forme Deoxys coming in Pokémon Go updates

Get ready for new Field Research rewards

Photo: James Bareham/Polygon

Pokémon Go trainers will face new challenges in the coming weeks as updates to Spinda and Deoxys are coming to Niantic’s mobile catch ’em all game.

Field Research tasks will get an updated pool of rewards starting July 1, when Latias, Latios, Kyogre, and Groudon will become available as Research Breakthrough encounters. That batch of legendary Pokémon will be available as rewards for completing a full week of research tasks from July 1, at 1 p.m. PDT/4 p.m. EDT to Sept. 1, at 1 p.m. PDT/4 p.m. EDT.

At the same time, a new Spinda will be available as part of Field Research. And to make Spinda-collecting even more anxiety-inducing, Shiny Spinda are coming to Pokémon Go.

A new Deoxys variant — Speed Forme — is also coming to Pokémon Go. Starting on June 23 at 8 a.m. PDT/11 a.m. EDT, Pokémon Go trainers who receive EX Raid Passes will be able to battle Speed Forme Deoxys in EX Raids. Deoxys was added to Pokémon Go in September 2018 in its Normal Forme. Niantic later rotated in Deoxys’ defense and attack variants.