clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Classic Star Wars books are getting re-released for Lucasfilm’s 50th anniversary

Timothy Zahn’s Heir to the Empire is back

a close-up of Mace Windu (Samuel L. Jackson) on the cover of Shatterpoint
Mace Windu (Samuel L. Jackson) on the Essential Legends Collection re-release of Matthew Stover’s Shatterpoint.
Image: Lucasfilm/Del Rey Books

The Star Wars Legends books may not be canon anymore, but they’re still home to some of the best and most beloved stories in the Star Wars universe, which is why some of them are getting new re-releases. In celebration of Lucasfilm’s 50th anniversary, some of the best Star Wars Legends books are getting new trade paperback editions, complete with new cover art, Del Rey Books announced Friday.

The new run of books will be part of what Del Rey and Lucasfilm are calling “The Essential Legends Collection.” The new line will pull in some of the fan-favorite novels from the last 40 years of Star Wars books. The first batch of novels in the new collection will include three classics: Heir to the Empire, Path of Destruction, and Shatterpoint.

Heir to the Empire (1991), by Timothy Zahn, remains possibly the most famous of the classic Legends books, and, as the first book in the Thrawn trilogy, introduces Grand Admiral Thrawn to the Star Wars universe. Path of Destruction (2006) is the first novel in Drew Karpyshyn’s Darth Bane trilogy. Bane was a Sith Lord from the days of the Old Republic who originally created the Sith’s Rule of Two. Matthew Stover’s Shatterpoint (2003) is a Clone Wars-era novel that follows Mace Windu as he becomes embroiled in a war on the planet Haruun Kal.

While these are the first three books being released, they aren’t the only ones planned by Lucasfilm and Del Rey. The publishers didn’t give any details on what will come next, other than saying that more books would be introduced to the Essential Legends Collection, and that it would be “smart” to publish books two and three for both the Thrawn and Darth Bane trilogies. In the case that your favorite Star Wars Legends novel doesn’t make it into the Essentials Collection, don’t worry. Del Rey still plans to continue publishing other Legends novels, just as it always has — even if the novels aren’t canon.

The new editions of all three books will be available starting on June 15.

the first three books in Lucasfilm’s Star Wars’ Essential Legends Collection: Heir to the Empire. Path of Destruction, and Shatterpoint Image: Lucasfilm/Del Rey Books

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon